Louis Bromfield (December 27, 1896 – March 18, 1956) was an American Pulitzer prize winning author and conservationist. A bestselling novelist in the 1920s, with over 33 published books, he reinvented himself as a farmer in the late 1930s and became one of the earliest proponents of sustainable and organic agriculture in the United States. Bromfield won the Pulitzer Prize in 1927 for his fictional book- Early Autumn.  

The Pulitzer Prize for Fiction is one of the seven American Pulitzer Prizes that are annually awarded for Letters, Drama, and Music. It recognizes distinguished fiction by an American author, preferably dealing with American life, published during the preceding calendar year. As the Pulitzer Prize for the Novel, it was one of the original Pulitzers; the program was inaugurated in 1917 with seven prizes, four of which were awarded that year. No Novel prize was awarded in 1917; the first was awarded in 1918


  • The Green Bay Tree, Stokes (New York, NY), 1924
  • Possession, Stokes, 1925, published as Lilli Barr, Unwin (London), 1926
  • Early Autumn, Stokes, 1926 (Winner of 1927 Pulitzer Prize)
  • A Good Woman, Stokes, 1927
  • The Strange Case of Miss Annie Spragg, Stokes, 1928
  • Twenty-four Hours, Stokes, 1930
  • A Modern Hero, Stokes, 1932
  • The Farm, Harper (New York, NY), 1933
  • The Man Who Had Everything, Harper, 1935
  • It Had to Happen, Cassell (London), 1936
  • The Rains Came: A Novel of Modern India, Harper, 1937
  • Night in Bombay, Harper, 1940
  • Wild Is the River, Harper, 1941
  • Until the Day Break, Harper, 1942
  • Mrs. Parkington, Harper, 1943
  • What Became of Anna Bolton, Harper, 1944
  • Colorado, Harper, 1947
  • The Wild Country, Harper, 1948
  • Mr. Smith, Harper, 1951

Short Stories:

  • Awake and Rehearse, Stokes, 1929
  • Tabloid News, Random House (Garden City, NY), 1930
  • Here Today and Gone Tomorrow: Four Short Novels, Harper, 1934
  • It Takes All Kinds, Harper, 1939, Bitter Lotus published separately, World Cleveland, OH), 1944
  • The World We Live In, Harper, 1944
  • Up Ferguson Way published separately, Tender Land (Mansfield, OH), 1981
  • Kenny, Harper, 1947


  • The House of Women (adaptation of his The Green Bay Tree), produced in New York, 1927, produced in London, 1928(With John Gearon) De Luxe, produced in New York, 1935
  • Times Have Changed (adaptation of a play by Edouard Bourdet), produced in New York, 1935

Non-Fiction & Other Writings:

  • Pleasant Valley, Harper, 1945
  • (With others) Cities Are Abnormal, edited by Elmer T. Peterson, Greenwood Press (Westport, CT), 1946
  • A Few Brass Tacks, Harper, 1946
  • Malabar Farm, Harper, 1948
  • Out of the Earth, Harper, 1950
  • The Wealth of the Soil, Ferguson (Detroit), 1952
  • A New Pattern for a Tired World, Harper, 1954
  • From My Experience: The Pleasures and Miseries of Life on a Farm, Harper, 1955
  • Animals and Other People, Harper, 1955
  • Walt Disney’s Vanishing Prairie, Simon & Schuster, 1956